get fit

recipe: crock pot low-carb chili

Fall means it’s time for delicious, warm, and filling soups. Nom. And one of my favorite go-to recipes is chili. I like to bulk up my chili with lots of delicious vegetables that make the meal substantial without adding a ton of calories or fat.

Low-Carb Crock Pot Chili

Low-Carb Crock Pot Chili

Low-Carb Crock Pot Chili

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of ground beef (or turkey, chicken, or meat-free substitute)
  • 2 bell peppers chopped
  • 8 oz mushrooms washed and sliced
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 15oz canned diced tomatoes
  • can of beans (whatever variety you prefer kidney, black, pinto)
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp garlic salt
  • pinch of crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • shredded light cheddar cheese (optional)
  • light sour cream (optional)

Set up crock pot (I use these liners which make clean up a snap). Turn it on to low heat and if you have a timer, set for 8 hours. Add canned tomatoes and beans. Heat olive oil in a pan until warm. Add peppers, onion, and mushrooms and sauté until onions are transparent.

Add the vegetables to the crock pot. Mix together the chili powder, garlic salt, red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper in a small bowl. In the same pan used for the vegetables, coat the meat with half of the seasoning mix and cook until brown. Add the browned meat to the crock pot and mix thoroughly. Add the rest of the seasoning mix to the crock pot and stir until all the seasonings are mixed in. Cook for 6-8 hours on low and serve topped with cheese and sour cream.

2 replies »

  1. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?

    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve
    had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

Leave a comment