everything else

no excuses november: day 16 – staying on track on the road

Sorry for the gap in posting. I’ve been out of town for a family funeral and am finally back to posting.

I wanted to post a few tips for staying on track while on the road that I found helpful while on my family trip:

fall road trip

Bring lots of stuff with you.

I made sure to always have unsalted nuts, an apple, and a protein bar or two in my bag at pretty much all times. That way I’m sure to always have something in a pinch. I personally love the Quest Bars for on-the-go snacks but any high-protein, low-sugar bar will do in a pinch

Hit up a souped up convenience store.

Nowadays there are a myriad of options at the local convenience store that can fit in pretty much every healthy eating plan. Some of my favorite places to go are Wawa, Sheetz, Quick Chek and 7-11. They all have fresh fruit options, coffee without added sweeteners and even some surprising options (like hummus and pita or a mixed greens salad).

Don’t be afraid to ask for customizations.

More and more restaurants are realizing that customers have health concerns while still trying to eat “fast-food”. There are some great options if you are a little more creative in how you order. Five Guys will give you a hamburger without a bun (if you ask for it) and Jimmy John’s will make any sandwich an “un-wich” lettuce wrap. Don’t be afraid to ask if they can make things a little special for you. Just don’t be a jerk about it πŸ™‚

Offer to do the grocery shopping or to pick up a few things at the market.

It’s so much easier to stay on track when you do the shopping. Plus it’s all part of being a good guest. Offer to go to the market to pick up a few things and bring back something that fits in with your goals. My personal favorite: shrimp cocktail. It’s very healthy and feels like a splurge/indulgence. You also can’t go wrong with a veggie tray.

Never go anywhere hungry.

This is probably just good advice for life. But if you know you’re going to be somewhere with lots of tempting foods or even a situation you aren’t sure about, break into your snack stockpile before going. Then you’re making decisions deliberately instead of just because you’re “hangry”

Relax

So this isn’t exactly about staying on track, but you do have to live a little. Have some wedding cake. Drink the champagne toast. Life is all about celebrating special moments and being a part of a social circle. Indulge a little and relax about it. Just make sure you get back to your routine when you get home.

 

How do you stay on track while traveling?

 

1 reply »

  1. Hey there, I found you via the NaBloPoMo blogroll.

    As part of NaBloPoMo I try to comment on as many participating blogs as I can, and I am also adding participating blogs to my feed reader. So I’m just dropping by to let you know I’ve added your blog to my feedreader, whenever you publish a post I will see it. πŸ™‚

    I have created three bundles on Inoreader so that bloggers can easily visit other participating NaBloPoMo bloggers which you can find here –

    http://www.snoskred.org/2014/11/nablopomo-bundles-final-edition.html

    Your blog is in the second bundle.. I also have a link up going at my place so my readers can find participating blogs which you are more than welcome to add your blog link to.

    Looking forward to seeing your posts. You may see me drop by again during November, but it might be December before I finish my first drop by to blogs if I don’t get faster at leaving comments. πŸ™‚

    Happy NaBloPoMo to you!
    Snoskred
    http://www.snoskred.org

Leave a Reply

