get glam

diy beauty: apothecary extracts tea tree oil & tea tree oil sugar scalp scrub recipe


It’s officially Fall. Do you know how I can tell?

Because all of my skin from my scalp to my toes is suddenly dry and in desperate need of some TLC.

That’s why I was so excited when Apothecary Extracts offered me the opportunity to try their 100% Pure Australian Tea Tree Oil (buy it on Amazon here).

IMG_6096

What is Tea Tree Oil?

Tea Tree Oil is oil from the tea tree (sounds obvious, I know). The tea tree is a plant native to Australia and has needles almost like a pine tree. People have been using tea tree oil since the 1770s and  is known for its antibacterial and anti-fungal properties.

a tea tree

How do I use it?

From the brand:

Tea Tree Essential Oil is best known as a very powerful immune stimulant. It can help to fight all three categories of infectious organisms (bacteria, fungi, and viruses), and there is evidence that Tea Tree Oil massages prior to an operation may help to fortify the body and reduce post-operative shock. Used in vapor therapy, Tea Tree Oil can help with colds, measles, sinusitis and viral infections. For skin and hair, Tea Tree has been used to combat acne, oily skin, head lice, dandruff, toenail fungus, yeast infections, skin tags, cold sores, dandruff, and ringworm.

So basically Tea Tree Oil is magic in a bottle. And with winter fast approaching, I could definitely use the help especially on my dry scalp.

I decided to make my own recipe for a Tea Tree Oil Sugar Scalp Scrub. Please try it and let me know what you think!

 IMG_6097

Tea Tree Oil Sugar Scalp Scrub

Makes enough for 1 person.

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons sugar (turbinado or raw cane sugar is best. If you don’t have that, use brown sugar if possible)
  • Olive oil
  • 10 drops Apothecary Extracts 100% Pure Australian Tea Tree Oil

Put your sugar into a bowl and slowly add in olive oil until the mixture forms a scrub-like consistency. It should still be gritty but should also stick together somewhat. Add in the tea tree oil.

Apply to directly to scalp and massage for 3-5 minutes before showering. [Note: this may get messy. I recommend applying in the shower before the water is turned on]. Rinse thoroughly and shampoo and condition as normal.

Results

Oh man. What a difference! The dry, itchy, and flaky areas on my scalp are so much better. My hair also looks cleaner and healthier at the roots since my scalp health has improved. I am definitely going to repeat this regularly throughout the winter season.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

