get fit

book review: the end of overeating

the end of overeating book cover

 The End of Overeating: Taking Control of the Insatiable American Appetite

by David Kessler

Summary:

From the Publisher: Dr. Kessler met with top scientists, physicians, and food industry insiders. The End of Overeating uncovers the shocking facts about how we lost control over our eating habits and how we can get it back. Dr. Kessler presents groundbreaking research, along with what is sure to be a controversial view inside the industry that continues to feed a nation of overeaters from popular brand manufacturers to advertisers, chain restaurants, and fast food franchises. For the millions of people struggling with weight as well as for those of us who simply don’t understand why we can’t seem to stop eating our favorite foods, Dr. Kessler s cutting-edge investigation offers new insights and helpful tools to help us find a solution. There has never been a more thorough, compelling, or in-depth analysis of why we eat the way we do.

My Thoughts:

This book spends a lot of time explaining the elaborate lengths that food companies go to with the hope of selling more product. And that is usually at the expense of our health (and waistlines). The book also talks at length about the pleasure feedback mechanism that our bodies have when eating certain foods.

As I was reading this book, I couldn’t help but think that perhaps it was written about me. I experience so many of the behaviors described as “conditioned hypereating”. I can relate to all of the impulses and the self-defeating thoughts of not having enough willpower or thinking that there is something wrong with me because I can’t control myself around certain foods.

I think that I will definitely try using some of the strategies in the book. I really liked the ideas for making better decisions in the moment. Here are a few things that they suggested as responses to foods that are not in-line with our ultimate goal:

Eating that food will only satisfy me temporarily.

Eating this is going to keep me stuck in the cue-urge-reward-habit cycle.

Eating this will keep me trapped. The next time I’m cued, I’m going to want this again.

Eating this will make me feel bad.

If I eat this, I’m demonstrating that I can’t break free.

I’ll be happier if I don’t eat this.

I’ll weigh less tomorrow if I don’t eat this.

This Book is Great For:

Those who are looking to understand why at times they feel out of control with their eating and feel addicted to certain foods. There is a lot of information explaining the science behind the body’s response to certain foods. This book isn’t for somebody looking for an “eat this, not that” kind of book. But there are great tips and tricks for establishing behaviors that will help you reach your goal, whatever your specific eating plan is.

Buy the book on Amazon

3 replies »

Leave a Reply

