get fit

The Key to Losing Weight Is Slowing Down | Maria Rodale

I wanted to share this article because it really resonated with me. It’s so easy to get caught up in the insane marketing of the diet industry promising extreme weight loss (“Lose 6 lbs in 6 days”). And when that happens, not only do you lose health through extreme measures, but you don’t create sustainable habits (hello, yo-yo dieting).

Here is my favorite quote from the article:

Remember, not every workout has to be your best workout. You just have to show up and do it. Be the constant, not the variable.

This really resonated with me. I’m always looking for the next fitness plan that will promise great results. But before I do that, I need to make sure that I am able to do something (anything) consistently. Any workout is better than no workout and consistency is the name of the game.

farmerfit | getfitandglam.com

For Some, the Key to Losing Weight Is Slowing Down | Maria Rodale.

3 replies »

  1. the best diet is one you stick too! Yo-yo and fad dieting has been harming us for soooo long. Pick a balanced diet plan like the ethosien diet and a good steady work out program and you will drop some weight. I have lost 21 lbs doing this over the last few months and for the first time in a long time i feel great, menatly and physically.

  2. I agree that for many people, myself included, the main problem is consistency and the resilience to see it through. This is a journey that I’m just starting, but I’m inspired by real stories like yours!

Leave a Reply

