everything else

what i’m reading now

books

I love to read all kinds of books in my spare time. Here are a few that I’ve read recently that I’ve really enjoyed. If you want more detail, please add me on Goodreads

Hidden by Catherine McKenzie

A great did-they or didn’t-they story about a man who may (or may not) have had an extra-marital affair with a woman from his office. You hear the twists and turns from different perspectives as the story unfolds and a tragedy impacts them all.

The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells by Andrew Sean Greer

A wonderful story looking at what might have happened if you had a chance to change your life. It sort of reminds me of the movie Sliding Doors (check it out if you don’t know what I’m talking about).

This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett

A wonderfully real collection of non-fiction essays from Ann Patchett. She shares her stories about her life as a young writer and her relationships. It also includes some great advice to aspiring writers 🙂

City of Thieves by David Benioff

David Benioff is an amazingly talented writer (and co-creator of GAME OF THRONES). This is a wonderfully written story with real, dynamic characters.

I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb

I am OBSESSED with Wally Lamb. I have yet to read anything of his that I didn’t like. No joke. She’s Come Undone is one of my favorite books of all time. I still can’t believe that a man wrote that book and managed to capture a female perspective so well.

I am also finding great books through the Kindle First program. For those of you who are not familiar, this program is free to all Prime members. You are able to choose a free book each month from 4 different selections. You are often able to get the book before it is published. It’s a great chance to try something new completely risk-free.

What are you reading now?

Leave a Reply

