get fit

vitamix love

Recently I decided that I was beyond annoyed with my old blender. It would make smoothies with GIANT chunks of ice/frozen fruit still in them which kinds of defeats the purpose of making a smoothie.

After looking around at different blenders for a while, I decided to take the plunge and upgrade to a Vitamix blender. I found mine at the local Costco and decided to purchase a 5200 series blender there based on amazing customer reviews. (Note: You can buy the bundle here from Costco and get it shipped right to you). I didn’t get the full package on costco.com so I don’t have a dry grain container (yet) but I do have the blender, wet container, and damper. My blender also came with a super inspiring recipe book that has tons of smoothies, drinks, soups, and nut butters. I am most excited to have a smoothie without chunks of ice in it.

The first thing I made in my new blender was my Healthy Shamrock Shake.  I love how well the blender crushes ice (like it’s no big deal). I will say that it’s a lot louder than my old blender but that is to be expected with such a powerful motor. I’ve made a bunch of great post-workout shakes which are a great way to me to get lots of protein and something that feels like a treat. I can’t wait to try some of the healthy recipes in the included recipe book (especially the soups and salsa).

Leave a Reply

