get glam

makeup review: benefit’s they’re real push-up liner

Benefit's They're Real Push-Up Eyeliner

I’m obsessed with Benefit products. They just work really well. So when they announced that they were coming out with a long-lasting gel eyeliner, I knew I had to try it.

Here’s a little bit more about the product (from Sephora.com):

What it is:
An innovative and waterproof lash-hugging gel liner pen.

What it does:
Benefit They’re Real! Push-Up Liner is the first fool-proof and budge-proof gel liner in a pen. A gorgeous way to open up eyes, this matte black gel formula won’t dry out, and its cutting-edge tip ensures a precise line every time.

What else you need to know:
This eyeliner’s soft AccuFlex™ tip is custom-angled to draw an easy line. Its flat, wide guard gently pushes lashes aside to get close to lash line.

Research results:
In a consumer panel survey on 32 women after 2 weeks:
– 91% said it was longwearing
– 81% said it was waterproof
– 88% said it hugged the lash line
– 84% said eyes looked visibly larger

Here’s the liner on my hand. Notice the true black color. Also, I had to use waterproof makeup remover to get it off. 🙂

Here I am wearing Benefit’s They’re Real! Push-Up LIner

The biggest appeal to me of this product was the long-wearing aspect. This is particularly important during the summer in NYC where it’s like walking through a swamp every time you step outside and the makeup sometimes literally melts down your face (glamorous, I know). This product delivers on that front. The product stayed on all day even after a workout without smudging or moving around my face. No primer required.

I was also excited to try a “gel” liner since a big problem I have with black liquid liners is that I am unable to get a true dark black color. As you can see on my hand (and on my face) this is a true jet black.

My only complaint is that the tip of this liner is a little different than a standard liner. It isn’t bad, but it has taken a little bit of practice to get used to. Which given the waterproof nature can require completely re-doing your eye makeup a few times.

Also, I would love if they released this product in a brown color as well for days when I’m not looking for something quite as heavy as this eyeliner.

You can buy it from Birchbox or Sephora. Right now, at Sephora, you can get a free 30-day sample using code: PUSHUP

The verdict: I would definitely recommend this product. Especially if you get the free sample from Sephora. Zero risk!

Leave a Reply

