get fit

fitness gadget obsession: fitbit one

fitbit oneI know that I’m a little late in sharing this (after all, the model was introduced in 2012) but I happen to like this tracker more than some of the other ones that have been released recently. Of course, the obvious benefit here is that this one doesn’t give me skin rash (too soon?) but I also like that you can wear it discreetly. One day I wore it clipped to the pocket of my pants and then had a slightly more than awkward conversation about weight loss with a senior exec at my company.

I also like that it doesn’t beep/make noise/or in any other way disrupt my daily routine. The only thing that is slightly annoying is that you use bluetooth to connect to your phone (which can drain your phone battery). You can also use the “dongle” (LOL) to connect to your computer directly but I don’t feel like carrying around something that I will most likely lose in a few days.

 

Key Features:

  • Tracks daily steps, stairs, and calories burned
  • Syncs with MyFitnessPal and other calorie counting apps
  • Has a display of a flower that indicates relative activity level for the day (more activity = bigger flower)
  • Says fun things when you start it moving again (e.g.”Hold Me, Meredith”)
  • Syncs with iPhone via bluetooth (no dongle required) and has a great app to show your progress
  • You can add friends on FitBit and see how your daily steps compare to theirs

What It’s Good At: Tracking general movement throughout the day (big for me since I walk about a mile each way too and from work).

What It’s Not Good At: Detailed running statistics or tracking through a workout on a machine/lifting weights (I take mine off for those activities and track those another way).

 

Do you use a fitness tracker? If so, which one do you use and what do you like/not like about it?

xoxo,

Meredith

3 replies »

  1. Hey,
    We are trying to create a fitness trackers community at MyFitnessCircle.com and we’d love to have you write some articles about your thoughts on the fitbit one 🙂 you could link the articles to your website if people want to check more of your other articles.
    Feel free to contact us at: contacts my fitness circle.com
    Great website BTW 🙂
    Hope to hear from you
    Good day

Leave a Reply

