advocare

advocare 24-day challenge: day 1

I wanted to give everybody an update on my first day of the challenge.

advocare day 1 breakfast

Advocare 24 Day Challenge: Day 1 Breakfast

First off, SO MUCH ENERGY. I’m still super energetic/not tired and it’s after 9 pm. Most nights I would have already logged some couch time and would probably be half asleep curled up under a blanket.

I started off my day with Spark, which is an energy drink/vitamins. My sister described it as Emergen-C with caffeine. Totally accurate.

After I finished getting ready, I had breakfast. Which was HUGE. I had 2 hard-boiled eggs, 1/2 cup old-fashioned oatmeal with pumpkin pie spice (this was only because I couldn’t find the cinnamon, but talk about a happy accident), 1 apple, and the infamous fiber drink (note: this really isn’t that bad. It is a little thick but I don’t understand what the big deal was. I think having my Blender Bottle definitely helped).

30 minutes before lunch (which wasn’t until 2 pm because I wasn’t hungry) I took the Catalyst. Which only gave me MORE energy.

Lunch was grilled chicken (the Cajun recipe from this blog post) with a cucumber, tomato, and red onion salad (with a little raspberry vinegar)

After this I left work early to go to the chiropractor (more on this later). I still wasn’t hungry but I decided to break into my afternoon snack for a little boost of energy. I had Sabra’s Roasted Red Pepper Hummus with some baby carrots. So delicious and I didn’t miss the crackers or pita chips that I used to have with hummus.

Advocare 24 Day Challenge: Day 1 Dinner

Advocare 24 Day Challenge: Day 1 Dinner

I had so much energy after the chiropractor that I  did a 30 minute workout on the elliptical and ALL OF THE DISHES (believe me, there were a lot). Then I made dinner which was hamburgers (no bun, no cheese for me) with quinoa with mango and mint.

While I was making the quinoa with pineapple and mint, I decided to save time and I also made a large batch of quinoa mediterranean style (with tomatoes, onion, cucumbers, and balsamic vinegar). It wasn’t that much more work and now I have a bunch of healthy and flavorful side dishes for this week. It just goes to show how much help meal planning can be.

Overall, I’m really happy with the cleanse. I am trying to stay away from the scale until Day 11 but I’ll post some recipes and some more of my thoughts/feelings on the challenge.

 

-Meredith

 

Leave a Reply

