get fit

q&a with victoria: advocare 24-day challenge

Today I decided to have my sister, Victoria, answer a few questions about the Advocare 24 day challenge that she has been doing. I’ve been sharing my tips, tricks, and strategies for losing weight but I am always eager to hear about things that have worked for other people.

Advocare-Spark

What made you decide to do the Advocare 24 day challenge?

Aside from the amazing results my friends were posting all over social media, I started researching cleanse systems and nutritional supplements since I was feeling stuck on my weight loss. I have some stomach issues which made me lose weight in 2013–but not in a healthy way! I actually found out over the summer that I was considered malnourished (despite being far from a size 0).  One of my resolutions for 2014 was to lose weight while improving my nutrition and overall wellness. At first the “challenge” sounded too good to be true (and expensive!) but I found that it really was a great way to reset my eating habits and ensure that my body could properly absorb the good things I was eating. I lost 9 lbs in 24 days! I have continued to use some of the products and am actually an Advocare Independent Distributor now.

What was the hardest part of the challenge?

Definitely no dairy for the first 10 days and no alcohol for the whole challenge. I love wine and cheese. But, I will say that cutting out dairy and white bread/pasta did a lot for my stomach. It was a rough transition when I added dairy back in (but ice cream is worth the occasional pain to me). Also, I’d say doing this challenge alone would make it a whole different beast entirely. I was lucky enough to have my boyfriend along for the diet, so I was able to share my cravings with him without being a weirdo (and he was much more strict than I was…definitely kept me on track). Right now I’m trying to work on moderation for everything and trying to increase my activity level so I can still see great results with a less strict diet. The meal plan that comes with the challenge isn’t anything incredibly revolutionary, but I felt more inclined to stick to it since I had dropped the money on the products.

Is the distributor membership just another pyramid scheme?

No, I wouldn’t call it that at all. After bombarding the person I originally bought from with questions, I decided to go for it since you get a 20% discount on all the products with no minimum orders or sales goals. Of course, there are a lot of people out there who are earning some extra income from the sales of their products, but I have yet to sell any. The 20% discount alone is making the membership worthwhile but I would also get 20% of anything somebody purchases from me at retail price.

 What products do you take now? Have you become a total pill-head who only instagrams powders with the tag #fitfam?

LOL. I am not that type of person at all, but there are a few products that I have incorporated into my daily routine. Spark has become the first part of the morning for me and my boyfriend. Spark is basically EmergenC with caffeine–vitamins with a kick! This comes with the 24 day challenge bundle and will make you sing in the morning. I drink it right when I wake up, hop in the shower, and by the time I’m out I’m ready to make breakfast and conquer the world. This flu season was also the first year that I didn’t get a really bad cough/cold and I decided to order more as soon as I experienced my first spark-free morning after the challenge. I’m also taking Omegaplex which gives you a big boost of fatty acids to help your nails/skin/hair while increasing heart health (no fishy aftertaste, either). I just started taking Catalyst which is a bunch of amino acids that will help repair your muscles after a big workout and also make sure you maintain your lean muscle mass while you eat a more controlled diet. More or less the same benefits of protein powder but in a pill form and not high calorie. I’m hoping to see some good results from that and am planning to keep buying Advocare products.

 

 

2 replies »

Leave a Reply

