everything else

lessons learned from vacation

Sandals Antigua

I just got back from an amazing vacation in Antigua (which you already knew if you follow me on Instagram/Facebook). I stayed at the Sandals Grande Antigua and everything could not have been nicer (even with my boyfriend’s freak accident but that’s a topic for another day).

As I was packing for vacation, I kept thinking that I was forgetting something. Turns out the thing I forgot was to lose the thirty or so pounds that I wanted to (oh well). I didn’t let that affect my choices on vacation. I think I must have eaten all of the food in Antigua. It’s hard to turn down all you can eat lobster tails. And I’m okay with that. I don’t want to eat grilled chicken and steamed broccoli while I’m on vacation.

But now I’m back from vacation and ready to tackle my weight loss with renewed commitment and intensity. I want to start the next phase in my journey to health and wellness that I’ve been struggling with since I can remember. I am at the point where I have brought my weight down to the point where it isn’t a health concern. And now I am going to tackle the “vanity pounds”.

Here are some of the things that I learned/realized while on my vacation with time to focus and relax that will help me as I begin the next phase on my path to wellness:

I learned that I need to find a life of balance. As I said above, I don’t want to live on nothing but boiled chicken and broccoli. I don’t want to do anything crazy or cause myself to feel like I’m missing out on life. I want to live my life. I just want that life to be a healthy one.

I realized that there will always be somebody better looking than you. With better hair, or naturally tan skin, or no cellulite. Whatever it is, there will always be something that will make you unhappy about your body. Instead of worrying about how other people look or how they have smaller thighs than me, I am going to focus on being my best self. The healthiest Meredith that I can be (both mentally and physically).

I learned that treating yourself is amazing and that you shouldn’t feel guilty about it. Sure, I could have taken the money I spent on this vacation and put it in savings or toward my student loan debt. But there will always be something more financially responsible than vacation or indulgences. I want to work toward my long-term financial goals while still living my life. And that is the balance that I need to find–a way to enjoy my life while being fiscally responsible. I think the key to that is being honest about needs vs. wants and finding a way to prioritize the wants in my life. I won’t be able to have everything on my want list, but I plan on finding a way to make at least a few happen each year.

I learned how important it is to spend time with just you and your significant other. It’s easy to forget how much you like each other while picking up dog poop in an ice storm or navigating a crowded grocery store on Superbowl Sunday. I think it is beyond critical to spend time away from the distractions of everyday life reconnecting with your partner.

What have you learned about yourself while on vacation?

Leave a Reply

