everything else

20 Things To Let Go Of Before The New Year from MindBodyGreen

As part of the deluge of “New Year, New You” themed posts, I found this one called 20 Things To Let Go Of Before The New Year from MindBodyGreen. I thought it was a different perspective than most of the other resolution articles which focused on what to do to improve yourself in the new year. Instead, this article is a list of things to stop allowing to control you in the new year. There were a few that really resonated with me:

Let go of worrying; worrying is like praying for what you don’t want

I can’t tell you how much time I spend worrying. It always seems like it happens when I’m trying to fall asleep. I feel like my mind is racing a million miles an hour and I worry about all sorts of things. That also leads me to have dreams filled with anxiety (the other night I dreamed that I was enrolled in a class for grad school that I just forgot to go to that I failed. I graduated in December 2011 and I am still having that dream!)

Let go of being the “go-to person” for everyone, all the time; stop blowing yourself off and take care of yourself first… because you matter

THIS. THIS. A thousand times this. I feel like my personal slogan has become “no problem”. Which is fine, but sometimes doing things for others becomes a problem. Especially at work. Especially when you end up working on the weekends to make it happen. I’m really going to try saying “no” in a nice way without feeling guilty. That’s still a skill that I need to learn.

Let go of thinking everyone else is happier, more successful or better off than you. You are right where you need to be. Your journey is unfolding perfectly for you.

I recently read a series of articles that said that social networks make you unsatisfied/unhappy with your life. Which totally makes sense. Here you are, seeing the highlights reel of somebody’s life while you’re living every un-glamorous moment of your own life. Nobody posts pictures of the gross/boring moments of life on Facebook (because nobody wants to see that). People post the best news in their lives and leave out the boring/disappointing/unremarkable/gross.

Let go of your money woes — make a plan to pay off debt and focus on your abundance

To me, this is an extension of the above quote. One way that I know I compare myself to others is based on the things that they are able to afford/do. Especially my co-workers. I end up falling into the mental trap that makes me think that I should be able to do/afford/buy the things that my co-workers are able to buy. We have the same jobs after all. But I keep forgetting that they may have completely different financial situations than me. I read an article recently that really resonated with me called Act Your Wage from Daily Worth where the author explained how she decided to stop “keeping up with the Joneses” and really focus on what somebody in her financial situation should be spending on things. Not just what others around her were spending. That is something I want to work on in 2014. Being happy with all of the things that I can comfortably afford and realizing that there will always be something that others may be able to comfortably afford that I simply cannot.

What are you letting go of for the new year?

Leave a Reply

