everything else

2013 resolutions, how did I do?

2013 was a really big year for me in terms of personal growth and moving forward in my relationships. I learned a lot about myself and had to face some unpleasant truths about some serious self-denial. At the beginning of the year, I made 5 resolutions for 2013.

Resolution 1: Commit myself to personal health and wellness. Make an effort to live a balanced life focused on long-term lifestyle choices instead of quick results. Make small changes one at a time instead of trying a dramatic change all at once.

This was definitely the biggest resolution for me. And probably one of the hardest. I have mentioned it before that I’ve struggled with my weight for most of my life. This year I wanted to try tackling things a different way. By making small changes and working on developing a balanced lifestyle. As part of that resolution, I decided to split up making changes in my diet and making changes in my fitness routine. I started with changes in my diet and didn’t even address working out until April.

Resolution 2: Eliminate unnecessary expenses and save for what I really want. Focus on long-term financial gains and growing my savings while accelerating repayment of my student loans. Avoid “buying traps” that seem like a really good deal. Don’t buy anything that I wouldn’t buy for full price. Be aware of spending patterns and stay within pre-determined budgets

Honestly, this is a resolution that I still struggle with. There is always something that comes up that keeps me from growing a large amount of savings. This year I am going to focus on continuing to work on saving money and staying within budgets.

Resolution 3: Stay in touch with friends and loved ones. Dedicate time to phone calls and Skype dates. Say yes to more social invitations and reconnect with friends in NYC. Make special trips to visit important friends.

This goal was also a challenge this year. That was mostly due to some changes in my romantic relationship that have created new and exciting opportunities to build new relationships with my boyfriend’s family. I do want to spend more time of friendships in 2014, but at the same time I am excited about building new relationships as well as fostering existing ones.

Resolution 4: Continue to focus on maintaining a work-life balance. Work on continuing success at work while limiting late-night and weekend work. Focus on drawing a separation between work and home life and stop constantly checking email.

I think I have actually done well with this in 2013. I am still doing well at work while at the same time making sure to prioritize myself over work. Sure, I still work a few weekends and some late nights. But it is a lot less frequently and I have gotten better at asking for help instead of shouldering the burden alone.

Resolution 5: Travel more. Dedicate myself to seeing the world and trying new things.

Again, some of the changes in my romantic relationship have made this a little harder than it was before. And I’m okay with that. I am very happy building new relationships here in NJ instead of traveling the world. But I still do want to travel more and build up the resources necessary to make that happen (aka. $$).

2013 was a really great year for me. And I’m looking forward to what 2014 will bring.

How did you do on your resolutions for 2013? Are you making resolutions for 2014?

Leave a Reply

