get fit

30 Things to Start Doing for Yourself from Higher Perspective

I wanted to share this amazing article that I found via a friend on Facebook. I know it is a little early for New Year’s Resolutions, but it is never a bad time to work on improving yourself.

30 Things to Start Doing for Yourself |Higher Perspective.

There were a few that really resonated with me

Start enjoying the things you already have. – The problem with many of us is that we think we’ll be happy when we reach a certain level in life – a level we see others operating at – your boss with her corner office, that friend of a friend who owns a mansion on the beach, etc.  Unfortunately, it takes awhile before you get there, and when you get there you’ll likely have a new destination in mind.  You’ll end up spending your whole life working toward something new without ever stopping to enjoy the things you have now.  So take a quiet moment every morning when you first awake to appreciate where you are and what you already have.

I know that I am definitely guilty of forgetting all the wonderful things that I have and being envious of others. I am in the process of trying to organize my closet (a Herculean task for sure) and it’s forcing me to look at all the wonderful things I already have.

Start forgiving yourself and others. – We’ve all been hurt by our own decisions and by others.  And while the pain of these experiences is normal, sometimes it lingers for too long.  We relive the pain over and over and have a hard time letting go.  Forgiveness is the remedy.  It doesn’t mean you’re erasing the past, or forgetting what happened.  It means you’re letting go of the resentment and pain, and instead choosing to learn from the incident and move on with your life.

This is something that I’ve been working on through the therapy process. It has been hard confronting some of the choices I’ve made in the past (whether spending or food-related) and I found myself very angry at myself. I’ve realized that beating myself up for the past won’t change the future. Instead, I’ve been working on figuring out what caused me to make the decisions I made and re-training myself to make better decisions in the future.

Start concentrating on the things you can control. – You can’t change everything, but you can always change something.  Wasting your time, talent and emotional energy on things that are beyond your control is a recipe for frustration, misery and stagnation.  Invest your energy in the things you can control, and act on them now.

Again, this was something I started working through in therapy. This was more related to my personal and family relationships and how I handle times of stress. I found a really great quote that I have taped up by my desk at work: “You don’t always have control over what happens to you. However, you have total control over how you react and respond to it” – Neil Shah. I try to remind myself of this every day and focus on the things that I can control instead of “spinning my wheels” and devoting emotional energy to things that I cannot control.

What do you think of this article? Did any of these tips resonate with you?

Leave a Reply

