everything else

healthy for the holidays: being selfish and scheduling relaxation time

One of the most important things that you can do for yourself and for your sanity during the holiday season is taking time to relax. Here are some of my favorite things to do to relax during the holiday season:

Read a good book

I love getting caught up in a good story and there’s nothing like curling up on the couch with a good book and a mug of cocoa to let you forget your troubles. Here are some of my favorite current reads:

  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson – a great story which answers the question: what if I got to do it over again?
  • She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb – an amazingly written account of one woman’s journey through life and metamorphosis (I’m seriously obsessed with Wally Lamb. I have not read anything of his that I didn’t like)
  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver – the story of a family of missionaries set against the political unrest in the Congo during the 1960’s

Note: For more book recommendations, you can follow me on Goodreads

Take a bath

I think I’ve mentioned it before, but I LOVE bubble baths. They feel luxurious and don’t cost anything (except for maybe water). I like to add in Epsom Salts, bath fizzes, essential oil or any combination of the three. I also like to light candles and listen to relaxing music to get myself fully in the mood. It’s also a great time to use an at-home facial or deep-conditioning hair mask. Follow up the bath with a nice, rich body cream and you’ve completed the at-home spa experience.

Watch a cheesy movie/TV

I’ll fully admit that I enjoy my trashy TV. It is totally my guilty pleasure. And I’m okay with that. During the holiday season, I enjoy the occasional mini-marathon of TV or movies. Some of my favorites: ABC Family for classic holiday movies (Nightmare Before Christmas, anybody?); Lifetime for completely cheesy stalker flicks; TLC for absurd reality; and Food Network for food inspiration.

What do you do to relax during the holidays?

Leave a Reply

