get organized

healthy for the holidays: healthy travel snacks

Apparently there will be 93.3 million people (including me) traveling for Thanksgiving this year. For me, that will mean a nine and a half hour drive. And while I’m looking forward to a great Thanksgiving with family and loved ones, I am not looking forward to all that driving. I am particularly not looking forward to all the horrible food that is available at rest stops. So I’m planning on trying to coordinate our stops at some of the places that have healthier options available (Sheetz, Wawa, and QuickCheck– I’m looking at you!). But if that doesn’t work out with everybody’s bathroom needs, I’m planning on bringing some healthy snacks along the way.

Homemade Trail Mix from gettinggoft.wordpress.com

Homemade Trail Mix

I’m going to make a large batch of homemade trail mix for the road. I like making my own mix so that I can control what goes into the mix. I usually include a mix of dry-roasted unsalted almonds, M&Ms, dried apricots, pretzels, raisins, sunflower seeds, and toasted pumpkin seeds.

Fruit

This is an obvious no-brainer. I like bringing fruits that are easy to throw into a bag like apples and bananas. I am also going to pack some ziploc bags full of grapes and cut up fruit and keep them in a cooler.

Protein Bars

This one can get a little tricky. Some protein bars are more like candy bars than a healthy snack. I try to be selective when it comes to reading labels. I have a few brands that I generally can depend on for a good snack that doesn’t have a bunch of processed ingredients.

Larabars – I love these bars. They can be a little higher in sugar than other bars, but the ingredients are all natural and I understand what they are (e.g. dates, cashews).

Balance Bars – These bars come in delicious flavors and are still lower in sugar than some other bars. I love the cookie dough flavor in particular. If I can’t find one of these brands, I will generally try for something with less than 20g of sugar and more than 10g of protein.

In addition to bringing my healthy snacks, I plan on trying to stay as hydrated as possible (while minimizing bathroom breaks).

What do you do to stay healthy when on the road?

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

