get organized

healthy for the holidays: pre-thanksgiving plan

With Turkey Day now a little less than three weeks away it’s time to start coming up with a plan to balance out the upcoming endless parade of turkey/pie/Christmas cookies. To be perfectly honest, I didn’t do so great with the temptation of an endless supply of Halloween candy and I want to have a better plan in place for the rest of the holiday season. So (without further ado) here is my plan for staying on track during the holidays.

TRACK EVERYTHING Yes, that means everything. Down to the Hershey’s Kiss that you stole from a co-workers desk. As hard as tracking everything is, it is super important to make sure that you’re

WORK OUT This seems obvious, but making a commitment to workout is always important, but especially now that there is tons of temptation, it’s important to make sure to workout regularly. Bonus: It also helps boost your immune system, keeping you healthy and able to enjoy the holidays.

ONLY SPLURGE ON THE ACTUAL HOLIDAY It seems like Christmas already started the second that Halloween ended and the parade of holiday sweets and treats seems never-ending. But just as I should have done for Halloween, I am committing to only indulging in seasonal treats on the actual day of the holiday.

PLAN AHEAD FOR OCCASIONS You’ve heard the saying, a failure to plan is a plan for failure. Things couldn’t be more true (sadly). For each celebration or temptation, I am going to have a plan of attack. I am going to workout ahead of holiday parties and limit my indulgences so that I stay on track with my goals.

ALTERNATE VEGGIES Have you ever heard the tip to alternate drinking cocktails and water? Well I plan on doing the same thing, only for food. That way I can still enjoy my favorite things but alternate heavier items with raw veggies or salad so that I can fill up on healthier things.

 

What are your favorite tips and tricks for leading a balanced life during the holiday season?

Leave a Reply

