get fit

pintested, meredith approved: buffalo chicken chili

I love buffalo wings. So much. I used to love going to a restaurant with my mom and sister that had over 40 different wing sauces (Buffalo Wing University in case you were wondering). But since I moved away, and since I’m trying to watch what I’m eating, I haven’t had really good wings in a while. But I have been craving them and the spicy tear-inducing sauce for a while now. Which is why I am really glad I found this great recipe for a diet-friendly Buffalo Chicken Chili.

Buffalo Chicken Chili (adapted from Closet Cooking)

Serves 6.

Buffalo Chicken Chili

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1/2 cup celery diced
  • 1/2 cup carrots diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 cup hot sauce
  • 1 cup broth or beer
  • 15 oz canned diced tomatoes
  • 15 oz canned cannellini beans
  • Reduced-fat crumbled blue cheese (to top)
  • Fritos (to serve on the side — optional)
  • Olive oil

Directions

Cook ground chicken over medium heat until fully cooked. Set aside

Cooked Ground Chicken

Put 1 tsp of olive oil in a pot and cook onions, carrots, garlic, and celery until softened and tender (about 5 minutes)

Cook carrots, celery, and onion

Add in broth/beer and stir to deglaze the pan (scrape up the browned bits)

Add in the rest of the ingredients (chicken, beans, tomatoes, hot sauce, spices) and let simmer for 15 minutes. [Note: I left the lid off for about half of this step to let the liquid reduce. Feel free to use your own judgment here]

Top with blue cheese and serve

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

