get fit

peachy keen… how i’m experimenting with all my CSA peaches

So as I mentioned in my last post, I signed up for a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program with Stony Hill Farms. And as part of the CSA, I’ve gotten lots of beautiful and delicious peaches. Which are great because I love (repeat LOVE) peaches. But there are only so many peaches I can eat before they spoil. So instead of wasting them, I have been working on trying new recipes to use up the peaches and also to try new things.

Peach Salsa

Homemade Peach Salsa

Homemade Peach Salsa

Ingredients

  • Tomatoes
  • Peaches
  • Hot pepper of your choosing (I used a Hot Hungarian from my CSA)
  • Spices (I used cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper flakes)
  • Hot sauce (optional)
  • Garlic

This recipe is pretty easy. I just added things to my Ninja (I am obsessed with this appliance, and not just because of the name–although the name is pretty bad-ass) and periodically adjusted the spices to taste. I didn’t use a ton of peach but it was a nice counterpoint to the heat of the pepper and spices.

Peach Fruit Leather

Peach Fruit Leather

Peach Fruit Leather

Adapted from FitSugar

Ingredients

  • Peaches (4 cups cut)

This recipe is also pretty straightforward (and also uses the Ninja). Simply wash and dry Β peaches and cut into pieces. Blend until smooth in the blender (I had to stop blending to mix once in the middle to make sure the pieces were all incorporated). Then spread out onto a SilPat on a cookie sheet. [Aside: If you don’t have a SilPat, you’re missing out. It’s amazing for anything you need to bake and can be bought for under $20 on Amazon.com]. Bake for 6-8 hours at the lowest temperature setting on your oven. Once cool, cut into pieces and store in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

