get fit

a PSA for CSAs and a truly satisfying pizza replacement

I’ve been really excited by my CSA from Stony Hill Farms. What is a CSA you might ask? A CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture and it is basically a weekly share of produce from the farm. I am really enjoying the produce I’ve gotten so far and it has caused me to change up the fruits and vegetables that I am eating. Not only is it causing me to try new things in the kitchen, but I am also saving money over getting my produce from the grocery store and supporting local farms. It’s win-win.

My first CSA pickup included a really beautiful skinny eggplant and I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it– eggplant pizzas (or Tranches d’aubergine á  l’italienne if you’re fancy).

Eggplant Pizzas (adapted from Kalyn’s Kitchen)

Image

Ingredients

  • Eggplant
  • Olive oil
  • Italian seasoning (I used Basil and Oregano)
  • 1/2 cup marinara sauce
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Slice the eggplant into even slices about 3/4″ thick. Cover with salt and place on paper towels to remove excess moisture. Let it sit for 30 minutes. Heat your oven to 375 degree. Then pat the eggplant slices dry and place them on a cookie sheet. Brush the top of the eggplant with olive oil and sprinkle with seasonings. Roast in the oven for 25 minutes. Remove from the oven and turn on the broiler. Cover each slice of eggplant with marinara sauce and shredded mozzarella. Broil the eggplant pizzas until the cheese is melted. Let it cool and then serve.

Leave a Reply

