get fit

becoming martha jewart (adventures in cooking)

I’ve continued to cook more meals at home. It hasn’t been easy with a challenging work schedule, but I have been making an effort. I have also rediscovered my love of my crock pot. So far, ivemade these Peanut Butter No-Bake Energy Bites which satisfy my cravings for something sweet with only 80 calories.

20121205-193346.jpg

Tonight for dinner I made Slow Cooker Bacon Wrapped Apple BBQ Chicken which was delicious (although I slightly overlooked it).

20121205-194128.jpg

20121205-194148.jpg

I am going to be looking for some more recipes for next week so that I can continue to control what I’m eating. I have been seeing great results counting calories. Shockingly eating less causes you to lose weight. Go figure. I’m not finding it that hard to stay to my daily calorie goal but I am seeing how I was gaining weight without even thinking about it. There are so many opportunities for a few hundred calories without even thinking about it. The office Halloween candy stash (guilty), baked goods brought in by coworkers (guilty), going for a treat/drink/bar food because you’re frustrated at the office (guilty). And all those calories add up. But I seemed to have calorie amnesia and forget that I ate all those small snacks and I would top it off with big meals and lots of wine.

I have also made an effort to not do what I always do: start a rigorous diet and exercise plan and then give up rather quickly. I am focusing on individual goals for3-4 week periods. The first goal is to track all my food and to say under my calorie goal for the day. The next goal will be to get a pedometer and walk 10,000 steps per day to ease into activity. They say it takes 21 days to form a habit so I am hoping that I will not have too much difficulty adding more to my routine.

Categories: get fit

Tagged as: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

