get fit

be prepared…

I’ve been spending an inordinate amount of time of Pinterest (I’m seriously addicted) but it has hopefully resulted in some great motivation/ideas. And the biggest thing I’ve taken away from Pinterest is that I need to be prepared (cue Lion King soundtrack…). As I mentioned in my previous post, being overworked and tired leads to lazy food choices (takeout). And while takeout will not disappear from my life, I am going to make a concerted effort to decrease the frequency of my takeout meals. I have also decided that getting takeout is not an excuse to indulge. One of my favorite takeout restaurants literally has a section of the menu called “if you must go healthy” and I’ve decided that I must from now on.

But my Pinterest obsession has brought be to some great (hopefully) recipes that are easy, cheap, and healthy. Today I went to the grocery store and I am trying these Make Ahead Egg McMuffins (237 calories, 17g protein, 8g fiber). I am hoping that they taste as good as they look. My only concern is reheating them but we will see how that goes tomorrow. I am excited about these and I hope that they will make getting a real, nutritious breakfast easy and inexpensive.

I will also be making this Chicken Parmesan Casserole which I am hoping will hit the spot when I’m craving delicious and fried food (under 400 calories a serving). I am also having Williams Sonoma Red Wine Braised Short Ribs for dinner tonight. Although these look incredibly decadent they are clocking in under 600 calories for 1/4 of the dish. And they are definitely going to be better than some greasy pizza (and better for me).

Update: Short Ribs were AMAZING

20121202-200951.jpg

Leave a Reply

